MIKHTAM!

            David wrote many psalms, poems and spiritual songs.  They were good and wise in the English but were probably more musical and smooth in Hebrew.  You know a little Jewish music, I mean you’ve probably heard some-it’s spicy.  David must have written some like that.  But I want to talk about one of his poems- Psalm 16.  It has many spiritual concepts and I will mention a few.  They are worth hearing about because it is an appealing psalm to Americans who are interested in the spiritual development of their personalities or who they are! 

            After reading the first verse we see that David was seeking refuge in GOD and for a good purpose.  He seemed to have trials and wanted God to comfort his mind and increase his faith.  ‘Hold me God’.  David always prayed when he was having trials.  As king they could have been trying to destroy him.  You know- influential men bullying and badgering trying to get out from under the accusations they were being tried for by David, the King.  In another of his writings he called them great bulls of Bashan- they troubled him.  He would have been over powered him except that David had God and prayer on his side.

 A Mikhtam of David. Preserve me, O God, for I take refuge in You.

Psa 16:2  I said to the LORD, “You are my Lord; I have no good besides You.”

Psa 16:3  As for the saints who are in the earth, They are the majestic ones in whom is all my delight.

Psa 16:4  The sorrows of those who have bartered for another god will be multiplied; I shall not pour out their drink offerings of blood, Nor will I take their names upon my lips.

Psa 16:5  The LORD is the portion of my inheritance and my cup; You support my lot.

Psa 16:6  The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; Indeed, my heritage is beautiful to me.

Psa 16:7  I will bless the LORD who has counseled me; Indeed, my mind instructs me in the night.

Psa 16:8  I have set the LORD continually before me; Because He is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

Psa 16:9  Therefore my heart is glad and my glory rejoices; My flesh also will dwell securely.

Psa 16:10  For You will not abandon my soul to Sheol; Nor will You allow Your Holy One to undergo decay.

Psa 16:11  You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever.

 

He needed refreshing, to regroup possibly; or forgiveness, strength, a plan.  These are things that prayer can provide just by talking it over with God, Jesus if you will.  Read vs. 2:

            We are sinners in other words, pretty much so.  There can be no good in us without God, even humanitarian.  For without Gods Spirit we could have an impure motive.  We have a self image and pride that says what we think of ourselves- good or bad- mostly the good.  The Lord says that our hearts are evil- ‘our works are as filthy rags’, next to Him.  Some religions and philosophies say that man is basically good.  But Christianity seems to say that man is basically bad- in need of a saviour and can’t save himself. 

            God is good though and is sufficient for us to live a good life.  I don’t know how you do it without Him- getting stressed out and nowhere to turn for refreshing and help and a break from the old you.  But God completes us and strengthens us so we can get through and do good too.  This is the miracle of salvation.

            So read through to verse nine.  David delights in saints like Moses and Sampson and Gideon who were men of faith and did great things and were buried.  Or just the saints in his time that he preached to in the great assembly, that were ‘on’ the earth.

            Those who did something to make another god have a big place in their lives- their sorrows would be multiplied.  Before Christ we all have things or people we put before God and they can become like an idol in our lives and they or that fact will cause suffering.  David would not offer their sacrifices or mention their names because of the abominations. 

            David was in a good place as a servant of the Lord and God had provided everything for him like a king.  He had a good inheritance: a king on the throne after him and his seed would end up being the Messiah.  The Lord counseled him and as we shall see he found out what to do with his trials.  He is in such joy from this that he will not be shaken by anything, he thinks. 

            And verse ten: David was a large magnitude prophet; he said many amazing things and this verse is one of them.  It is a prophecy or prediction of the Lords resurrection.  This is how it happened.  He didn’t know when he wrote it that Jesus was going to rise from the dead.  But it is a perfect description of how it happened and its fulfillment is in all of the gospels.

            You see Jesus did go to Sheol or hell when He died and preached to the captives there to see if they would accept Him as Messiah.  Those who did accept HIM went to heaven.  Jesus was only in the tomb three days and the Jewish law said that after four days they would never come back.  So He didn’t decay there. 

            The last verse, verse eleven, read it.  God made known to David the path of life through his trials.  He showed him what to do and his mind figured out how to implement it into his life.  He looked forward to his life which he was content with, to be satisfying again.

            BTW Sheol was a place of rest for people who died before Jesus died.  It was not the suffering hell.  It was a place of waiting for the Messiah to come. 

 

Leave a Reply

